Atletico Madrid were unhappy at the time, and their fury will have found no recourse to be calmed following the latest IFAB clarification on ‘double-touch’ penalties. The ‘missed’ Julian Alvarez penalty in a Champions League Round of 16 shoot-out against rivals Real Madrid became one of the most controversial incidents in the history of the Madrid derby.
Initially it was argued that there was no clear evidence for VAR to intervene and rule out Alvarez’s penalty on account of a double-touch. Now IFAB, the International Football Association Board who are in charge of rules and regulations in the game, have decided to ‘clarify’ the law regarding double-touch penalties.
Full Statement:
The IFAB wishes to clarify Law 10 – Determining the Outcome of a Match and Law 14 – The Penalty Kick regarding the situation when the penalty taker accidentally kicks the ball with both feet simultaneously or when the ball touches the penalty taker’s non-kicking foot or leg immediately after they have taken the kick.
This situation is rare, and as it is not directly covered in Law 14, referees have understandably tended to penalise the kicker for having touched the ball again before it has touched another player, thus awarding an indirect free kick to the opposition or, in the case of penalties (penalty shoot-out), recording the kick as missed.
However, this part of Law 14 is primarily intended for situations where the penalty taker deliberately touches the ball a second time before it has touched another player (e.g. when it rebounds from the goalpost(s) or crossbar without touching the goalkeeper). This is very different from the penalty taker accidentally kicking the ball with both feet simultaneously or touching the ball with their non-kicking foot or leg immediately after they have taken the kick, which usually occurs because they have slipped when taking it.
Not penalising an accidental double touch would nevertheless be unfair, as the goalkeeper can be disadvantaged by the altered trajectory of the ball.
Therefore, The IFAB would like to clarify the procedures in the following situations. • The penalty taker accidentally kicks the ball with both feet simultaneously or the ball touches their non-kicking foot or leg immediately after the kick: § If the kick is successful, it is retaken § If the kick is unsuccessful, an indirect free kick is awarded (unless the referee plays advantage when it clearly benefits the defending team) or, in the case of penalties (penalty shoot-out), the kick is recorded as missed • The penalty taker deliberately kicks the ball with both feet simultaneously or deliberately touches it a second time before it has touched another player: § An indirect free kick is awarded (unless the referee plays advantage when it clearly benefits the defending team) or, in the case of penalties (penalty shoot-out), the kick is recorded as missed.
Please note that these clarified procedures are effective for competitions starting on or after 1 July 2025 and may be used by competitions starting before that date.
wenbimnpt
0
nothing was changed...in penalty shootouts it is still a miss...only in game play is it retaken
Greazzy1
0
Kindly understand the difference between changing and clarifying.
Becadkstuy
2
Add