download All Football App

Inter 0-1 Frankfurt (0-1 agg): Nerazzurri eliminated from Europa League at home

  /  R47

Luka Jovic gave Eintracht Frankfurt a precious away goal within six minutes at San Siro and a decimated Inter never found a way back, crashing out of the Europa League.

2018/2019 UEFA Europa League


Match Events

5'GOAL! Inter 0-1 Frankfurt (Jovic)

GOAL! Jovic gives Frankfurt the lead! A hopeful long ball forward is allowed to bounce by De Vrij and Jovic nips in to take the away from the Inter defender on the right side of the penalty area. Handanovic rushes out to close down the Frankfurt striker, but Jovic calmly lifts the ball over the top of the Inter goalkeeper and into the top left corner. 1-0.

27' OFFSIDE! Haller's goal disallowed

OFFSIDE! Rode receives the ball in the centre of the park from Jovic and drives at the Inter defence before laying the ball off to his right for Da Costa. The Frankfurt defender whips a low cross into the box which Haller steers into the net from the near post, but the linesman has his flag up for offside against the Frenchman.

71' CLOSE! Skriniar's shot wide out

Match Reports:

Inter's Europa League campaign came to a lacklustre end as Luka Jovic's early strike secured Eintracht Frankfurt's progression into the quarter-finals with a 1-0 win.

Kevin Trapp had been Frankfurt's hero with his penalty save in the goalless first leg and, without a recognised striker to call on, Luciano Spalletti's Inter side were toothless throughout Thursday's meeting.

Jovic showed Inter – still without Mauro Icardi, who has not played since being stripped of the captaincy in mid-February – what they were missing with a composed finish that paved the way for a dominant Frankfurt display at San Siro.

Match Ratings:


Inter XI: I. Perišić, S. Handanovič, Candreva, Valero, De Vrij, D'Ambrosio, M. Vecino, Cédric Soares, Skriniar, Politano, K. Baldé

Subs: D. Padelli, Ranocchia, M. Brozović, Davide Merola, G. Zappa, L. Gavioli, S. Esposito

Frankfurt XI: M. Hasebe, S. Rode, K. Trapp, Hinteregger, F. Kostić, Willems, Haller, Da Costa, Gacinovic, L. Jović, O. N'Dicka

Subs: Russ, De Guzmán, Tawatha, F. Rønnow, Gonçalo Paciência, Falette, M. Stendera