download All Football App

Southgate refuses to 'hammer' players following underwhelming performance

  /  autty

Gareth Southgate refused to ‘hammer’ his England players despite his disappointment with their performance in the 2-0 win over Malta.

The victory - courtesy of an early own goal and Harry Kane’s second-half strike - guaranteed their place at the top of Group C, while pot one seeding for Euro 2024 is all but assured.

After a flat night at Wembley, Southgate said: ‘We didn’t hit the heights that we have done this calendar year. It was a game where we didn’t start well.

'If you don’t start well then it’s hard to pick your game up. We got a goal out of nothing really.

‘Our quality on the ball is not normally that level. It was one of those days where players knew they could win the game at a canter and didn’t extend themselves.

'The number of games these players are playing, it's almost a self-regulation.

'But they have played so many matches and have done such a good job, I am not going to hammer them.

'I am not going to get into their ribs too much, they have been exceptional.

‘This week was always going to be difficult, we’ve already qualified. I’m not worried going forward. They will have a different level of motivation [in the future].’

One of the positives for Southgate was the performance of Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold in midfield.

‘He used the ball really well,’ added the England boss. ‘He has outstanding quality. Him and Phil Foden in the first half looked like opening the game for us.

‘Marc Guehi looked good at the back and it was good to get another game under his belt.

'The changes brought quality as well and we could have scored more in the second half, but they aren’t a team that loses by fives or sixes.’

Harry Kane was booked for a dive in the first half when rounding the goalkeeper in the penalty area.

‘I thought it was a bit harsh, there was definitely contact from the goalkeeper,’ Southgate said.

The England captain added: 'I was surprised it didn't get overturned, but the referee has made his decision.’