download All Football App

Europa League 2018-19 group stage draw - All you need to know

  /  autty

The upcoming draw to determine the group stage fixtures will see Chelsea join London rivals Arsenal in the Europa League for the first time since winning in 2013.

The Gunners will be looking to get one step closer to the title after reaching the semi-finals before losing to eventual winners Atletico Madrid.

Burnley were unable to qualify for a Europa League group stage spot after losing to Olympiacos 3-0 in their first-leg and then drawing 1-1 at Turf Moor in the second-leg. 

We provide you with everything you need to know for Europa League group stage draw including date, time and channel plus how the draw works and which teams have qualified so far.

When is it?

The Europa League group stage draw will take place on Friday 31st August from Grimaldi Forum in Monaco.

What time is the Europa League draw?

The group stage draw will be held at 12pm (BST).

How can I watch?

You can stream live on the UEFA website or watch on BT Sport 2 from 12pm (BST).

How does the Europa League draw work?

The 48 clubs participating are split into four seeding pots based on their club coefficients . The ranking is determined by how the side has performed in Europe over the past five years, with each of the 12 groups to contain one team from each seeding tier.

Europa League group stage draw involves:

- 17 automatically qualified teams

- 21 teams to advance from the play-off round

- 6 teams defeated from the Champions League play-off round 

- 4 teams defeated in the Champions League third qualifying round league path

Clubs from the same country cannot be drawn together at this stage.

Which pot are Chelsea and Arsenal in?

Both Premier League clubs are in pot 1 alongside Bayer Leverkusen, Villarreal, Lazio and AC Milan and Sporting Lisbon.

Who are Europa League group stage teams?

Automatically qualified

AC Milan (ITA)/Akhisarspor (TUR)/Anderlecht (BEL)/Arsenal (ENG)/Chelsea (ENG)/Eintracht Frankfurt (GER)/Jablonec (CZE)/Krasnodar (RUS)/Lazio (ITA)/Leverkusen (GER)/Marseille (FRA)/Real Betis (ESP)/Rennes (FRA)/Sporting CP (POR)/Villarreal (ESP)/Vorskla (UKR)/Zurich (SUI)

UEFA Champions League third qualifying round league path defeated teams

Fenerbahce (TUR)/ Slavia Praha (CZE)/ Spartak Moscow (RUS)/ Standard Liege (BEL)

UEFA Champions League play-off round defeated teams

BATE Borisov (BLR)/ Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)/ Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)/ PAOK (GRE)/ Salzburg (AUT)/ Vidi (HUN)

UEFA Europa League play-off round victors

AEK Larnaca (CYP)/ Apollon Limassol (CYP)/ Astana (KAZ)/ F91 Dudelange (LUX)/ Copenhagen (DEN)/ Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL)/ Malmo (SWE)/ Qarabag (AZE)/ Rangers (SCO)/ RB Leipzig (GER)/ Sarpsborg (NOR)/ Zenit (RUS)/ Spartak Trnava (SVK)/ Rosenborg (NOR)/ Celtic (SCO)/ Sevilla (ESP)/ Bordeaux (FRA)/ Besiktas (TUR)/ Rapid Wien (AUT)/ Genk (BEL)/ Olympiacos (GRE) 

When does the Europa League group stage start?

Group stages of Europa League tournament kick off on 20 September and the last of their six matches will conclude on 13 December.

Fixture dates:

- 20 September: Group stage, matchday one

- 4 October: Group stage, matchday two

- 25 October: Group stage, matchday three

- 8 November: Group stage, matchday four

- 29 November: Group stage, matchday five

- 13 December: Group stage, matchday six

The top two teams from each of the 12 groups will progress to knockout rounds in February 2019.