download All Football App

La Liga Award Nominees announced as Barcelona, Real Madrid and Girona dominate

  /  autty

La Liga have announced the nominees for their end of season awards, with four categories to be decided, as well as the team of the season. The winners will be announced on the 28th of May at the KAFD Globe Soccer European Awards in Sardinia.

Real Madrid pair Vinicius Junior and Jude Bellingham will be favourites for the Player of the Year award, while Girona are the only other side to have two nominees, with top scorer Artem Dovbyk and Aleix Garcia their entrants. Barcelona’s Robert Lewandowski has made the shortlist too, as has Antoine Griezmann of Atletico Madrid. Outside of the top four, Takefusa Kubo (Real Sociedad), Kirian Rodriguez (Las Palmas), Isco (Real Betis) and Alexander Sorloth (Villarreal) are also candidates.

For the Young Player of the Year, nominees must be under the age of 23, in a category dominated by Girona and Barcelona. Newcomers Pau Cubarsi and Lamine Yamal are in, as are Miguel Gutierrez, Savio and Yan Couto from their Catalan neighbours. Kubo is nominated for this category again, and Rodrygo Goes represents Real Madrid.

Also in with a shout are Johnny Cardoso of Real Betis, Javi Guerra of Valencia and Nico Williams of Athletic Club. For goal of the season, there are eight nominees: Memphis Depay (Atletico Madrid), Joao Cancelo (Barcelona), Saul Coco (Las Palmas), Aitor Ruibal (Real Betis), Jesus Areso (Osasuna), Vinicius (Real Madrid), Lamine Yamal (Barcelona) and Joao Felix (Barcelona).

Meanwhile Carlo Ancelotti is a natural choice for his stellar work at Real Madrid, but no doubt Michel Sanchez has to be favourite for an historic season at Girona FC. Diego Simeone is in the running, as are Ernesto Valverde for ending Athletic Club’s 40-year wait for the Copa del Rey, and his predecessor Marcelino Garcia Toral, for turning things around at Villarreal. Fans can vote for the nominees here.