download All Football App

North Macedonia 1-1 England: Three Lions end their qualifiers with a draw away

  /  R47

England officially secured the highest possible group-stage seeding at Euro 2024 despite having to come from behind to draw 1-1 away at North Macedonia.

2024 EURO qualification


Match Report

Gareth Southgate's side, who beat Monday's opponents 7-0 in June, fell behind to a team with just four wins in 14 as Enis Bardhi scored a rebounded penalty after a controversial call to penalise debutant Rico Lewis for an upper-body foul in the box.

Declan Rice hit the post in the first half while Jack Grealish saw a goal early in the second half ruled out by VAR, but it was captain Harry Kane who had to come off the bench and force an immediate own goal by Jani Atanasov for the equaliser from Phil Foden's corner.

England ended their 2023 season by labouring to a draw with another indifferent display, but they got the point they needed to wrap up a Pot 1 spot when the Euro 2024 draw takes place on December 2.

What's next?

England's Euro 2024 Qualifying campaign is now over and they are not back in action until March 23, when they host Brazil at Wembley - kick-off 7pm.

England's final game before Gareth Southgate names his shortlist for Euro 2024 is against Belgium at Wembley three days later.

Match Events

0' The match is about to start!

14' CLOSE! Rice hits the post

17' Yellow Card! Elmas booked

40' Yellow Card! Rico Lewis booked

41' GOAL! North Macedonia 1-0 England (Bardhi)

46' ClOSE! Rico’s shot saved by Goalkeeper!

50' OFFSIDE! Grealish’s goal disallowed

59' OWN GOAL! North Macedonia 1-1 England (Jani Atanasov)


North Macedonia XI: Visar Musliu, Stole Dimitrievski, Ezgjan Alioski, Isnik Alimi, Bardhi, Elmas, Jani Atanasov, Bojan Miovski, Nikola Serafimov, Bojan Dimoski, Jovan Manev

Subs: Arijan Ademi, Stefan Ashkovski, Damjan Siskovski, Tihomir Kostadinov, Igor Aleksovski, Todor Todoroski, Milan Ristovski, Darko Churlinov, Agon Elezi, Erdon Daci, Dimitar Mitrovski, Ahmed Iljazovski

England XI: Walker, Pickford, Maguire, Grealish, Ollie Watkins, Alexander-Arnold, Rice, Foden, Guehi, Saka, Rico Lewis

Subs: Henderson, Kane, Sam Johnstone, Tomori, Kalvin Phillips, Rashford, Ngoyo, Ramsdale, Conor Gallagher, Cole Palmer